Welcome to my new Website/Blog

Getting to know me...

Monday, Sept. 21, 2020

Hi! My name is Ron Wolf

IT work:

I’ve been working professionally in IT since January of 1988. I’ve been in the Travel Industry since July of 1998. I started programming in ‘C’, I’ve worked in Perl, Bourne Shell/Bash, TAL, Ruby, Python, CFEngine, Puppet, Chef & Ansible and through most of it I was a Unix/Linux system adminstrator. I’ve worked mostly for Fortune 500 companies. I’m currently working remotely doing Infrastructure Engineering utilizing common DevOps automation tools, and currently learning Terraform and Azure.


I’ve done Photography since High School. It was my major in college for about a year before I switched to computers. I took all of the photos that I use on this website. I started college with the intent of becoming a professional photographer, then I switched to Radio/TV and took classes in videography, then found computers and switched again. I’ve dabbled a little in videography and video editing since. The image at the top of this page is a panoramic photo that I took on a trip to Maui. It is a photo of the clouds rolling up the mountain taken from a high mountain meadow on the side of Haleakala.

Take a look at my Flickr site if you want to see my photos.


You’ve never heard of Esperanto? Don’t feel bad. Most people in the U.S. have never heard of it unless they know someone like me. (Read this blog post) It’s much better known overseas. I’ve been an Esperantist since 1999. I heard about Dr. Zamanhof’s International Language in High School while reading a Sci-Fi novel, but I thought it was just something the author of the novel, Mack Reynolds, made up for his story. I remember thinking at the time that it was a great idea, an easy to learn, neutral language that everyone can learn, used as a common second language for the world. Too bad so few people have the imagination to see how useful something like this could be and learn it, so far, an estimated 2 million world-wide althought that number is increasing thanks to the internet and Duolingo.com. I studied one small book on my lunch hours at work and was conversational in the language in about 4 months. That was after failing high school spanish, and as I was turning 40.


I’ve Cycled since childhood. I’ve cycled off and on for most of my life. I picked it back up again in 2011. Since then I’ve Cycled over 10,000 miles. I have a bad back, so I chose a recumbent trike. I feel the trike is more stable than a bike and less chance of hurting myself. My longest one-day ride was 105 miles.

Here’s my trike: the HP Velotechnik - Scorpion FS 20


I consider myself a political independent with Republican leanings. I find myself agreeing with the Democrats on many social issues, but at the same time I can’t agree with them on Abortion. 2016 was the first time in a long while that I didn’t vote Republican. I felt the 2016 election was a case of “Lesser of two Evils”. I couldn’t bring myself to vote for either Trump or for Hillary. I voted for the Libertarian candidate (couldn’t tell you his/her name to save my life) as a “none of the above” vote.


Kayaking is a recent addition. I found that I enjoyed it on a “float trip” I took with my grandson.

Thanks for visiting my site, and being interested in my story!